The F1 World Champions

On this page you can find out who won the F1 World Championships from 1950 - 2014

Formula 1 World Champions are a breed apart - although there is literally only split seconds separating them from the rest, it was they who put those split seconds (and occasionally whole seconds too) between them and their competitors. That is a remarkable feat that requires immense dedication.
Below are the greats. Who can forget the personalities? Graham Hill and his cheeky moustache, Ayrton Senna the Formula 1 saint who literally had to be prised from his car, Michael Schumacher who sometimes seemed to drive with the precision of a machine.

Year Driver Flag Nation F1 Team
2014 Lewis Hamilton GB Mercedes
2013 Sebastian Vettel GER Red Bull Racing
2012 Sebastian Vettel GER Red Bull Racing
2011 Sebastian Vettel GER Red Bull Racing
2010 Sebastian Vettel GER Red Bull Racing
2009 Jenson Button GB Brawn GP
2008 Lewis Hamilton GB Mclaren
2007 Kimi Raikkonen FIN Ferrari
2006 Fernando Alonso ESP Renault
2005 Fernando Alonso ESP Renault
2004 Michael Schumacher GER Ferrari
2003 Michael Schumacher GER Ferrari
2002 Michael Schumacher GER Ferrari
2001 Michael Schumacher GER Ferrari
2000 Michael Schumacher GER Ferrari
1999 Mika Hakkinen FIN McLaren
1998 Mika Hakkinen FIN McLaren
1997 Jacques Villeneuve CAN Williams
1996 Damon Hill GB Williams
1995 Michael Schumacher GER Benneton
1994 Michael Schumacher GER Benneton
1993 Alain Prost FRA Williams
1992 Nigel Mansell GB Williams
1991 Ayrton Senna BRA McLaren
1990 Ayrton Senna BRA McLaren
1989 Alain Prost FRA McLaren
1988 Ayrton Senna BRA McLaren
1987 Nelson Piquet BRA Williams
1986 Alain Prost FRA McLaren
1985 Alain Prost FRA McLaren
1984 Niki Lauda AUT McLaren
1983 Nelson Piquet BRA Brabham
1982 Keke Rosberg FIN Williams
1981 Nelson Piquet BRA Brabham
1980 Alan Jones OZ Williams
1979 Jody Scheckter S A Ferrari
1978 Mario Andretti USA Lotus-Ford
1977 Niki Lauda AUT Ferrari
1976 James Hunt GB McLaren-Ford
1975 Niki Lauda AUT Ferrari
1974 Emerson Fittipaldi BRA McLaren-Ford
1973 Jackie Stewart GB Tyrell-Ford
1972 Emerson Fittipaldi BRA Lotus-Ford
1971 Jackie Stewart GB Tyrell-Ford
1970 Jochen Rindt AUT Lotus-Ford
1969 Jackie Stewart GB Matra-Ford
1968 Graham Hill GB Lotus-Ford
1967 Denny Hulme NZ Brabham-Repco
1966 Jack Brabham OZ Brabham-Repco
1965 Jim Clark GB Lotus-Climax
1964 John Surtees GB Ferrari
1963 Jim Clark GB Lotus-Climax
1962 Graham Hill GB BRM
1961 Phil Hill USA Ferrari
1960 Jack Brabham OZ Cooper-Climax
1959 Jack Brabham OZ Cooper-Climax
1958 Mike Hawthorn GB Ferrari
1957 Juan Manuel Fangio ARG Maserati
1956 Juan Manuel Fangio ARG Lancia-Ferrari
1955 Juan Manuel Fangio ARG Mercedes-Benz
1954 Juan Manuel Fangio ARG Maserati/Mercedes
1953 Alberto Ascari ITA Ferrari
1952 Alberto Ascari ITA Ferrari
1951 Juan Manuel Fangio ARG Alfa Romeo
1950 Guiseppe Farina ITA Alfa Romeo